Leviticus Chapter 14

This chapter is a continuation of the laws of chapter 13. This chapter can be divided up into two parts. Verses 1-32 describe the purification rites of someone who had previously been declared infected with tsara’at. Verses 32-53 describe mud covered or plastered building stones that are infected with tsara’at.

Leviticus Chapter 13

We now come to the appetizing chapter of “running sores and leprosy.” This chapter discusses a skin affliction that is termed “leprosy,” but leprosy as we know it today (Hansen’s Disease) does not at all fit the description given here.

Leviticus Chapter 12

The previous chapter showed us that the world around us is filled with unclean things and we can be contaminated by contact with them. The external character of sin is characterized by the physical elements of certain animals, fish, birds, and insects and all dead things. Sin is all around us. It is everywhere in this lost world.

Leviticus Chapter 11

This chapter is one of the high points in Scripture, but it is one of the most ignored chapters by Christianity. In Leviticus 11 and Deuteronomy 14, Elohim gives us explicit orders as to what is considered food and what is not considered food. Christians for some 1600 years have thought this chapter doesn’t apply anymore and can and should be ignored. This chapter describes what has been called the “Levitical Diet.” But nowhere in this chapter are Levites even mentioned.

Leviticus Chapter 10

The book of Leviticus contains very little action. This chapter includes a change of pace in this book of instruction, but it is not a happy change of pace. This chapter involves the death of two of Aaron’s sons.

Leviticus Chapter 9

The eighth day is a reference to the eighth day that Aaron and his sons were consecrated as priests. It is not a reference to the eighth day of the month. Seven days of cleansing is a typical time period and was commanded at the end of the previous chapter

Leviticus Chapter 8

This chapter has to do with the consecration of the priests and of the Tabernacle. When it says “all the congregation,” it means the entire nation was to assemble there. The Hebrew word for “congregation” is edah.

Leviticus Chapter 6

The first five chapters in Leviticus detailed the mechanics of the five offerings. These next two chapters emphasize the ritual of the sacrifices. They detail the care the priests must take in handling the offerings.

Leviticus Chapter 5

This chapter covers the trespass (or guilt) offering. What is a trespass? What does a sign that says “No Trespassing,” mean? A trespass means you invaded on the rights of others. You can go around swinging your fist anywhere you want, but your right to do that ends where my nose begins.
A trespass can occur against Elohim or against man. Even when a trespass occurs against another person, the trespass is also against Elohim. It is our trespasses against Him that separates us from Him. This offering is the penalty paid for unintentional trespasses against Elohim.

Leviticus Chapter 4

This chapter on the sin offering is much longer than any of the others. There must be much importance here.
This offering became the most important of all the offerings because it points to the fact that man is unclean because of his unintentional sin. The next offering is the trespass offering and speaks of the sin that man does. The sin offering speaks of what man is because of sin, not what man does.

Leviticus Chapter 3

This offering is called the “shelamim” offering. It is translated as “peace offering.” The word “shelamim” is related to the word “shalom,” which means “well-being.”

Pin It on Pinterest